The Sunday Rave

My new post which will be featured every Sunday is ‘The Sunday Rave’ in which I’ll be recommending books, television, movies, music etc to rave about.

Books

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green- As a fan of Green’s YA novels, I couldn’t wait for his newest work of fiction to came out. I finally got my hands on it this past week and I couldn’t put it down. An utterly heartbreaking story. I demand that you go out and get immediately.

The Whistleblower by Kathryn Bolkovac- I read this book about a year ago and it still resonates with me. It’s a true story about the author’s experience in Bosnia as U.N. International Police Force monitor and her uncovering of sex trafficking ring that incriminated many of her colleagues.  It is a very powerful account of what she faced in the war-torn country and her fight to bring justice to those who were involved in the sex trafficking.

Movies

The Help- Based on the book with the same title by Kathryn Stockett , “an aspiring author during the civil rights movement of the 1960s decides to write a book detailing the African-American maid’s point of view on the white families for which they work, and the hardships they go through on a daily basis.” I think one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time and worthy of all the awards is nominated for.

The Descendants- Follows the lives of a family who is barely keeping it together through tragedy and how even the worst moments in life can bring you together. Quite possibly one of the best performances by George Clooney and Shailene Woodley is phenomenal. The movie is a little slow but definitely worth watching.

Television

Downton Abbey- This British upstairs/downstairs drama has easily become one of my favorite television shows. It follows the lives of the Lord Grantham and his family along with the servants at Downton. I watched the first and second season in less than a week that’s how much I enjoyed it.

Sherlock- A BBC production that modernized Sherlock Holmes and I don’t know what else to say besides the fact that its brilliant. Benedict Cumberbatch plays Sherlock and it is ridiculous how good he is at it. The second series comes to PBS in May.

Parks and Recreation- Why this half an hour show on NBC focused around a fictional town in Indiana’s Parks and Recreation department doesn’t get more recognition for how consistently hilarious it is, is beyond me. The cast is spearheaded by SNL alum Amy Poehler but this is truly an ensemble cast because everyone in the cast is fantastic.

Nikita- Just check out my last post please. This show needs a bigger following, it deserves it.

Music

I can’t even begin to explain my taste in music. Last night I was listening to Johnny Cash, the soundtrack from Schindler’s List, Mumford and Sons, Florence + the Machine, and Frank Sinatra. A lot of the more current music I listen to comes from the various television shows I watch so recently I’ve started listening to Poison & Wine by the Civil Wars because it was on The Vampire Diaries and its a beautiful song. Honestly, turn on some real music. Rap doesn’t count.

I’m hurriedly typing this up because its red carpet time and award shows are my guilty pleasure. If you have any recommendations for me, I wanna hear them! Maybe I’ll end up featuring them next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under the sunday rave

What do you think?

