Nikita..The Show You Should Be Watching

Sometimes I like to pretend like all of you readers out there actually listen to what I have to write…I know what a crazy assumption. If you come to this blog and read what I have to say, thank you, I know like fifty percent of the people who check this happen to be family so hi everyone! Hi Gramma! If you were going to take on thing away from this blog, let it be from this post or until I write another amazing blurb demanding something of you. We should probably get down to brass tacks before I lose any of you.

I write a little bit about television when I feel like it should be recognized and I haven’t given enough praise to one highly underrated show. If you know me at all,  you know that I love television shows…I grew up watching soap operas and primetime shows that I probably shouldn’t have been watching at my age. It is one of the few things in the world that I can count on to make me feel better or to give me approximately 43 minutes of good story telling where I can forget about the problems in my own life. I don’t recommend shows lightly, if I’m telling you to watch something there is no doubt in my mind that it beyond ordinary story telling, that this show will change the way you think or make you think harder. It will allow you to enter a world you would never find yourself in. To me watching and enjoying a TV show, is a magical experience. Shows on the CW network tend to get overlooked in a lot of aspects despite its beautifully crafted world in which it creates each week and the devoted fanbase.

Nikita is one of those shows (the movie and previous show are used as an inspiration for this new spin). ‘Nikita is a trained assassin gone rogue trying to stop a secret U.S. agency known only as Division from recruiting deeply troubled teenagers and training them to be assassins. ‘ The insanely gorgeous Maggie Q, plays the title character, with such ease and command that it almost makes you wonder if Maggie Q is really a rogue assassin in her free time. Well the ease is no surprise since the actress trained under Jackie Chan and has said to do all of her own stunts which if you watch the show is incredible. The cast is composed of an enormously talented ensemble including Shane West as the somewhat cold but caring operative in Division who trained Nikita. His character is one of the most complex on the show and West portrays him in a way that no other actor could. Xander Berkeley is the “villain” of the series as the ruthless head of Division, Percy with his right hand woman the manipulator Amanda played by Melinda Clarke whose ability to remain indifferent is chilling. Lyndsy Fonseca’s character Alex, has more layers than an onion and is the secret weapon in destroying Division. Fonseca is a brilliant match to Q’s Nikita and her performances are always something to be praised. Every great organization needs its Birkoff depicted by Aaron Stanford, the nerd behind Division’s tech is not as cut and dry as he appears to be. Stanford’s character delivers the drama and the much-needed comic relief on the show. I should probably move onto why I think this show is worthy of every view in the world but I need to pay homage to one actor I haven’t mentioned. The no mercy ‘Cleaner’ Roan portrayed by Rob Stewart, his job is exactly as it seems…he cleans up the messes Division leaves behind and this guy doesn’t even flinch when he puts a bullet in someone. His eerie calmness in each action scene is worthy of an Emmy alone.

This show takes action to a whole new level that makes your jaw drop every episode. The twist and turns behind each storyline is mind-blowing. Each character plays in important role in the intense game between Nikita and Division. This isn’t your ordinary spy show, this story is so much more human than it seems. The challenges the characters face in their own lives and in what they do, there is this struggle between good and evil that runs deeper in a way that isn’t always black and white. Nikita has action, romance, drama, enough humor to lighten the mood before they turn you on your head. It is an absolutely thrilling tale that has me on the edge of my seat each week. It is clever and intelligent, it has the ability to make you wonder…to question what you know. The talented actors bring their A-game to every episode which is clear when you are watching the show. I recently rewatched the entire first season in just a few days and it still managed to shock me, I fell in love with the show all over again. I think to date; it is one of few shows that has had an incredible first season. Half the time while watching the episodes it felt as though it was meant to be a finale because it was jam-packed with so many of those elements that add to its brilliance. It saddens me that this show doesn’t get more praise from critics because it truly is a prime example for television shows that are in a league of their own. There is something about Nikita that makes you hungry for more when you hit the end credits and there isn’t one thing I would change about it. There hasn’t been a plot that I haven’t enjoyed or expected. The love the actors have for their characters and their jobs is an added bonus. This cast is a gift to the Nikita fanbase, they indulge in our insanity and their enthusiasm for fans and the show makes them priceless. There isn’t an actor on this show who doesn’t give a 110% to their character and it’s obvious. Not to mention the crew who works tirelessly with the actors to make the show what it is. Nikita has so much going on in every scene in every episode that goes beyond what the actors do and the crew members are just as important with the writers, lighting, special effects, behind the camera lens, make-up/hair, wardrobe, music I’m sure I’m forgetting a lot too. Nikita wouldn’t be as mind-blowing without all of these elements from the crew that helps hold the show together especially the writers. They have given the characters more than just lines, they’ve given them meaning and life.  I could gush about this show all night.

Now Nikita has been struggling in the ratings and I want all of you reading this to go out, rent/buy the first season of Nikita or get on Netflix now to watch it, catch up and tune in. Or if you are feeling adventurous turn on your TV to the CW on Friday at 8PM and check it out. You won’t regret giving this show a try.

1 Comment

Filed under television, television show reviews

One response to “Nikita..The Show You Should Be Watching

  1. onlymystory

    I’ll admit to being one of those who got bored with Nikita. I don’t know that I’ll be able to catch up right away but you’ve definitely made me want to at least give it another try. Maybe I’ll find myself hooked again! (not that I need another show to be addicted to 😀 )

What do you think?

