Thirteen Reasons Why Not

I recently finished a  novel called ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ by Jay Asher which is about a teenage girl who commits suicide and leaves behind cassette tapes to thirteen people who somehow affected her decision to end her life. My little summary isn’t that great so really you should go buy it, trust me its worth every penny. I think the message behind this book is that even the smallest actions can change a person greatly. The story is fiction, at least from what I understand but in every sense it could be true. It just makes you think how other people’s opinions/actions/words affect another. I hope I’m never someone’s reason why. From now on I want to make a positive impact on a person’s life. I’ve got a lot to be thankful for in my life so I created my own thirteen reasons.

Thirteen Reasons Why Not

an amazing family

caring friends

mountains of books to read

great television shows (seriously though can you imagine never knowing what happens?)

people to watch over and take care of

i want to experience the most breathtaking kind of love

i want to travel all over

help  human trafficking survivors

take a stand for something, become a true advocate

stories to tell, to write, to read

heroes to meet

there are many adventures to be had

make those who mean the world to me proud

Well my thirteen reasons why not started out as the reasons I’m lucky and turned into a to do list for the future. I think suicide is taking the easy way out, you could stay here and fight for yourself. You could get the help you need and live  your life the way you are suppose to.

If you or someone you know has suicidal thoughts or is contemplating suicide GET HELP.  The number for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is 1-800-273-8255 and I’m always here to listen. Be brave, fight for yourself.

Leave a comment

Filed under life

What do you think?

