Pro-Choice or Pro-Abortion?

Since when did being pro-choice mean that you are for abortions? I’m pro-choice not that it is really any of your business. Which is exactly what it should come down to. Do men get pregnant? Did I miss that portion of sexual education in fourth/fifth grade? Right. There’s where I would tell you…you don’t have a vagina so your argument is invalid. Now how many women are in Congress? 76. How many men are in Congress you ask. 362. I’m not really up to speed on what’s going on in Congress or the political world, it bores me and I find that its a gentleman’s club who can’t make decisions. Do I want a bunch of old, wrinkly, traditional old men deciding what I should do with my body? Or the entire country for that matter. No. I’m also not going to let any religion tell me what I should do with myself.

Back to my original question just because I’m pro-choice doesn’t mean I’m all for abortions. If something happens to me and I have to make a decision like aborting a babyย  it should be my decision and mine alone. I do believe that people should practice safe sex to prevent unwanted pregnancies but accidents and assaults happen. You never know. I don’t think abortions are something to be taken lightly either, I’m not going to get into the when does human life begin argument because I don’t know. You define it whatever way you want but don’t tell others how to. So abortions should be legal, precautions should be taken, they should be regulated and only allowed up until a certain point in the pregnancy. I’m not pr0-abortion. I’m pro-choice. I’m pro doing what you think is right. I’m pro letting a woman make their own decision. America was founded on freedom. So why should we take away a person’s freedom to choose?

 

I’m looking at this from merely a woman’s rights standpoint. Like I said I’m not going to get into when life begins because I don’t know. Apart of the huge controversy is taking a life or the right of the baby to live but I guess the real question is can you live with that choice? Who knows. I don’t.

3 Comments

Filed under life

3 responses to “Pro-Choice or Pro-Abortion?

  1. I pretty much completely agree with you. I do. But I don’t think you’re right about “Iโ€™m not going to get into the when does human life begin argument because I donโ€™t know. You define it whatever way you want but donโ€™t tell others how to. ” I think it definitely matters.

    I don’t think when pro-choice people say “it’s all about a woman’s right to choose” and pro-life (quantity over quality of life that is, and anti-choice I prefer as a term) say “it’s all about the life of the fetus” that we’re getting anywhere in the conversation. The Pro-lifers aren’t saying they don’t think women should have the right to choose, it’s more complicated – they generally seem to believe that the fetus should have the right to live and killing it is murder. And that’s more important than the woman’s rights. Which is why they’re anti-choice/pro-life. So when life begins etc does matter a lot in terms of this debate.

    I am pro-choice. I feel strongly that it’s not a problem to cut off a “potential” life by having an abortion, it’s what people do by using birth control or even from abstaining from sex is also not allowing “potential” new babies to be born. ๐Ÿ˜› It’s a slippery slope. I believe the question should never be “do you not want the baby” but rather “do you want it” – you shouldn’t have a baby unless you want it. We don’t need more babies in the already full foster/adoption system, especially not if the pregnant woman doesn’t want the child and might not take care of herself and her unborn child throughout the pregnancy. I care about the lives of the children. I’m both pro-life and pro-choice, because being pro-choice IS pro-life – I care about the quality of life of the child and the mother. Also being pregnant/having a baby threatens a woman’s life too. It’s a big deal. But I don’t think it’s as simple as a woman’s right. If it really is murder, and just as bad as killing your four-year-old child because they’re annoying and always need you to feed them and be taken care of and wake you up in the middle of the night because of nightmares or whatever… well we need to discuss this. It’s not okay for parents to murder their 4-year-olds. The state makes it illegal, steps in, arrests the parents, protects the children from abuse if they get there in time. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Obviously abortion to us pro-choicers is quite different and much more okay. To a pro-life person, it’s not so obviously different. And that IS the issue at hand. We need to convince them that it’s different. Not convince them that they’re men and shouldn’t be deciding things for women, and making it all about the woman and her body and her rights and her choice. We need to address the bigger issue first, that it’s not a mom murdering a 4-year-old child. It’s not the same. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Sorry for the rant. I just have a lot of thoughts. XD As a virgin who hopes to never get pregnant unless I plan for it (possibly never at all because I’m thinking of just fostering/adopting some older children who really need a home)… I still feel passionately about the issue lmao.

    • Thanks for your comment! I don’t think it doesn’t matter, its one of the main reasons why the arguments are so controversial and heated. I was saying that I really don’t know. I don’t know when life begins and I don’t know how I could decide that matter. I’m not even sure how potential life could know that they want to live. Does that even make sense? I know that it matters and I just don’t know one could understand what a fetus feels or when they choose to believe life starts. Hopefully I’m not talking myself in circles here, its hard to write what you think on issue that I’m not clear on all the facts or justifications.

      It is a slippery slope with a lot of land mines! It is also full of layers too. You answer one question but then you realize that there are a million more to discuss. Of course its not the same as murdering a child which I think in their eyes, a fetus will at some point become more than a bunch of cells growing inside of you. I think they are looking at it in more of a long run view. Those cells will eventually grow, get bigger, develop fingers and toes…someday learn to talk and walk. You know? Going back to what I said in my post people define life in so many ways and the fact that others don’t believe in that same definition makes it hard to come to an understanding. I wanted to look at this situation from a woman’s rights standpoint because in the end we are woman and that is the life growing inside of us. It isn’t the same for men. Yes in terms of what is life and where it begins but when it comes down to it, we are the ones carrying the cells, fetus, baby whatever you want to call it. Part of my rant on the whole men/boy’s club is that most of the time when you hear about abortion in the news or the pro-life/pro-choice debate it seems like those are the voices that are being heard. If that makes sense? I think for a person whose voice becomes so powerful and yet that will never know what its like to carry a child. Again. I DON’T KNOW. I enjoy your passion on the topic and I’m glad you commented.

      • Yeah I totally understand where you’re coming from. I do believe that to some degree all the women who say “men shouldn’t be deciding the issue since they don’t get pregnant themselves” are kinda right. But at the same time they can understand our point of view and I feel bad excluding them 100% and kinda viewing all men as the enemy to our cause if that makes any sense lmao. I do think a lot of “anti-choice” or “pro-life” men might end up getting an abortion themselves if they were the person who got pregnant with an unwanted child. It’s even more complicated than that though because it’s definitely not fair for a man to be the person deciding that a woman has to go through a pregnancy nor for the man to be the one deciding that she must have an abortion. Yet leaving it all up to the woman and her deciding to have the baby (and keep it, not give it up for adoption) means he is forced to have an unwanted child against his will – a child who probably would want love from him – and the father is now morally obligated to be a part of the child’s life in many cases and even if he isn’t or doesn’t care about the moral obligations still is required by law to pay child support for the next 18 years. It seems unfair to him to have that forced on him too. But it’s unfair to the child to not force him to pay child support, the children really need it, and it’s more unfair to the women to force the decision on her since it’s her body for 9 months. XD It is a super complicated issue and honestly I’ve thought about it for years and still have trouble knowing how to say why exactly if a baby is viable outside the womb that’s a good arbitrary point for abortion to be outlawed, honestly in my hypothetical situation, if an infant is a few months old, and no one knows that baby exists except the mother, and she kills it in its sleep, it doesn’t REALLY, theoretically, seem like it’s hurting anyone. The baby doesn’t know what it’s missing, didn’t have any expectations/hopes/dreams/understanding of life & death yet and no one else is going to be heartbroken by the loss. I know the idea of killing babies gives you a knee-jerk “that’s evil” reaction but logically it’s really complicated to me to figure out a perfect argument for pro-choice that wouldn’t also to some degree justify that type of baby killing. ๐Ÿ˜› I do like the argument that it’s 100% the mother’s responsibility for the 9 months in the womb and it’s not fair to force that on her but once it gets to a point where it’d be viable outside the womb, then other people could take care of it if she doesn’t want it anymore… so abortion should only be legal up to the point of viability except in rare exceptions like the mother’s life/death being at issue. I kinda like the argument. I’m not sure it’s perfect though. XD

        I totally agree with you in general though. Definitely. ๐Ÿ˜‰

What do you think?

