Through the Dark

A much darker creative writing story, I was going to use this bit as apart of the manuscript I was planning on writing.

Through the Dark

            “I don’t know how it happened. I never thought that this could happen to me…obviously I was wrong,” she told the man. She stared into his assuring blue eyes and accepted the tissue. Then she started her story, telling him everything he needed to know.

Claire waved to her friends and bounded up the wide staircase to her boyfriend’s bedroom. She left Luke’s present up in his room while she decorated his house for the party. It took her weeks to plan the entire surprise party; she didn’t know it would be that hard to keep a secret from him. She decorated the downstairs of his house with dark blue streamers and balloons. The couches were pushed up against the wall in the front room to create a dance floor and converted the kitchen into a bar where glass, bottles, and cups littered the spacious room. She wanted this party to be special for him. She paused outside his bedroom door at the end of the long hallway, she hadn’t remembered shutting it. “Stop being so paranoid,” she muttered to herself. She slowly turned the brass knob and found it completely dark except for the nightlight in the attached bathroom. She blindly held out her arm reaching for the lamp beside his bed.  She jumped when a hand touched her arm.

“I’ve been waiting for you,” he told me. She shifted her body away from him still not escaping his grip.

“Kyle…Are you wasted? As Luke’s best friend you should be sober for at least the first half of his party,” she smiled weakly.  To be honest she never really got along with Kyle too well but she made an effort for her boyfriend’s sake. There was something off about him. The way he would hit on her when Luke’s back was turned or he would touch her arm when talking to her.  She bumped into Luke’s bed. “Can you turn on the light?”

“I forgot you were afraid of the dark,” he laughed and let go of her arm. He reached for the lamp and tried to turn it on.  “Looks like its not working.”

She shivered, how did he know that she was afraid of the dark. She told Luke once but he promised not to say anything. “Oh. Well I’ll be going I wanted to give Luke his present and you know a hostess’ job is never done.”

She headed towards the door when he blocked her step, “What are you doing?”

“Don’t want to leave without this?” he held up the neatly wrapped box. She reached for it and Kyle pulled it back. “Not so fast. Why don’t you hang out with me for a few minutes I’m sure Luke won’t mind too much, we never seem to get a chance to talk.”

There was a reason for that, she mentally screamed. She discretely looked around the room for an exit or a makeshift weapon. She’s seen scenes in movies like this before when the poor, defenseless girl screamed out of her mind and then jumped out of the window. He pushed her back into the room, she froze, “How about we save this talk for later? We can grab lunch or something another time with Luke.”

“I said I wanted to talk to you not Luke,” he grounded out.  He placed the present on the armoire behind him. As he moved forward Claire found herself in a corner.

“Right, we can talk alone but I really should get back to the party,” she pointed towards the door. She wiped her sweaty palms on her skirt. She spotted Luke’s basketball trophy on the bookshelf across from where she was standing. Worse comes to worse she’ll be gluing that back together she told herself.

He grinned at her, “Do I make you nervous? I’ve seen the way you look at me when Luke’s not paying attention…those little glances every once in a while.”

She furrowed her brow, “What? I have no idea what you’re talking about.”

“Aw come on don’t pretend like you don’t know what I’m talking about I understand your dating Luke and I’m his best friend. It would look really bad if anyone ever figured it out,” he rambled on. Claire tried to relax but found herself having a hard time doing deep breathing. “Don’t worry we can keep it a secret.”

“Secret?” She shook her head; she winced when she hit the desk behind her. “Kyle…I honestly don’t know what you mean.”

He frowned, “Now your really hurting my feelings. Are you saying I’m making these things up huh?”

“No. No. Of course not,” she held her hands up. Do not provoke the crazed best friend. The bright red numbers on the alarm clock read eight-thirty. She’s had to been up in this room for more than five minutes, why hadn’t any noticed? Could Luke be searching for me right now? Maybe he was coming up the stairs now and she wasn’t sure what she would tell him.  Hey Luke, I wanted to grab your present but your best friend who thinks I’m in love with him cornered me. Maybe this would be one of those things we would look back on and laugh about in ten years. That’s assuming that I make it out of this room. “I think what I’m trying to say that this is probably not the best time to discuss this.”

Kyle grabbed her arm and pushed her sideways onto the bed.  The music downstairs pounded and vibrated off the walls. She focused on the warm glow coming off the nightlight. He held her shaking body on Luke’s king sized bed. She couldn’t help but think about how much she hated Luke’s silk comforter and bed set. It made her feel like she was in a cheap motel off the highway all that it needed was fluffy heart-shaped pillows.  Kyle leaned in closer, “You’ve been asking for this.”

“What? I haven’t been asking for anything I keep telling you,” she exclaimed and tried to push him off of her. He held his left arm across her body to keep her on the bed. “I love L-luke.”

“Stop lying to me!” He yelled gruffly, something silver shined in his hand. A small tear slid down her cheek and onto the bed. She tried to scream but her voice became hoarser with each passing second. He clamped his hand over her open mouth. She could feel his breath on her ear. “None of that will be allowed. The moment you scream is the when I use this sharp knife right there. Scars aren’t that attractive.”

“No…Please stop,” she begged as his hands began to wander. She closed her eyes tightly. His hands reached the hem of her skirt. She watched the ceiling fan rotate like her life spinning out of control. A sudden rush of adrenaline shot through her body. She didn’t want to be the victim. Her skirt was ripped off in a second. Her fight or flight instinct kicking in at the exact moment he tried to force himself on her. Claire screamed and kicked at him. “Help! Please!”

He grunted and clumsily stabbed her thigh, “See look what you made me do…I don’t want to hurt you but it’s too late for that.”

“I can’t let you do this,” she pounded her tiny fists against his chest. He pressed up against her harder placing his lips on her neck. She felt the blood trickle down her leg and seep onto the comforter. With only one hand free she ignored the pain radiating from her body and screamed louder against his hand. She grasped the hardback book on the bedside table and rammed it against Kyle’s head.  She took the opportunity to push his solid body off of her and staggered towards the door. She made it out into the hallway when Kyle clutched onto her leg and tried to pull her back in the room. Her cheek hit the plush carpet in the hallway. The room started spinning and screamed, “Help!”

“What the hell is going on here? Claire?” Luke yelled from the end of the hall. “Claire? Are you alright?”

He tackled Kyle to the ground when he got a closer look at her body…Fresh bruises covered her both of her arms, blood trailing down her arm and thigh, her lip was busted. She was spread out on the ground wearing the remnants of her clothing.


She smiled bitterly at the police officer and wiped away a few tears, “That’s it. That’s how I was raped…They say you never forget your first and they were right…You know I always hated the dark.”

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

What do you think?

